The 2011 data of Indian Population estimates 1,241,491,960 people (Source: World Bank)

The 2011 census put the Indian Minorities a little above 20% of the total population.

But for the first time the census does not specifically talk of religious minorities.

The following data is based on 2001 Census.

Name of Religion Percentage of total population Sex ratio Number of people
India 100 933 102.9 crore
Hindus 80.5 931 82.8 crore
Muslims 13.4 936 13.8 crore
Christians 2.3 1009 2.4 crore
Sikhs 1.9 893 1.96 crore
Buddhists 0.8 953 0.9 crore
Jains 0.4 940 0.43 crore
Other religions 0.6 992 0.62 crore

Andhra Pradesh Capital: Hyderabad (The capital city has 44.59% minority population)
Population : 76210007

Minority Population in AP : 8373356

Majority : 6,78,36,651
Arunachal Pradesh Capital: Itanagar
Population 1,382,611

Minority Population: Deeply Divided Population

Hindu: 379,935 (34.6%), The Animists mostly Donyi Polo: 337,399 (30.7%), Christian: 205,548 (18.7%), Buddhist: 143,028 (13.0%), Muslim: 20,675 (1.9%), Sikh: 1,865 (0.1%), Jain: 216 (0.1%)
Assam Capital: Dispur
Population 31,169,272

Minority Population: 9331704 (29%)
Bihar Capital: Patna
Population 103,804,637

Minority Population : 19% of the total population
(Muslims constitute 18.5% and others 0.5)
Chhattisgarh Capital: Raipur
Goa Capital: Panjim
Gujarat Capital: Gandhinagar
Population 60,439,692

Minority Population: 10.9% minorities (9.06% muslims, 0.5% Christians, 1.03 % Christians, 0.19 % Sikhs, 0.07% Buddhists and .05 % others)
Haryana Capital: Chandigarh (shared, Union Territory)
Population 25,353,081

Minority Population: Sikhs 6%, Muslims 5.78% (mainly Meos muslim who are the ethnic group of Mewat districts), Others 0.45%.
Himachal Pradesh Capital: Shimla
Population 6,856,509

Minority Population: 4.53 % (2001 Census)
(Muslims account for 1.97%, Sikhs 1.19%, Buddhists 1.25%, and Christians 0.13%)

(The freedom of Religion Act, 2006 enacted by the Legislative Assembly of Himachal Pradesh, received the assent of the Governor on February 18, 2007. The National Commission for Minorities has examined the provisions of the Act and the Statement of Objects and Reasons. The latter refers to "rise in conversions based on allurement generally" and to "a persistent demand from across the different strata of the society, urging the State Government to curb it" as, otherwise, it may "erode the confidence and mutual trust between the different religious and ethnic groups in the State")
Jammu and Kashmir Capital: Srinagar (summer), Jammu (winter)
Population 12,548,926

Jammu: Hindus constitute 65%, Muslims 31% and Sikhs, 4% of the population.
Ladakh: (comprises of Buddhists-dominated Leh and Muslim-dominated Kargil)
Buddhists 46% , Muslims 47% and Hindus constitute 6% of the population.

The people of Ladakh are of Indo-Tibetan origin, while the southern Jammu includes many communities tracing their ancestry to the nearby Indian states of Haryana and Punjab and Delhi.

In the whole of the state of J& K Muslims constitute 67%, Hindus 30%, Buddhists 1% and the Sikhs 2% of the population.
Jharkhand Capital: Ranchi
Karnataka Capital: Bangalore
Kerala Capital: Thiruvananthapuram
Madhya Pradesh Capital: Bhopal
Maharashtra Capital: Mumbai
Manipur Capital: Imphal
Meghalaya Capital: Shillong
Mizoram Capital: Aizawl
Nagaland Capital: Kohima
Odisha (Orissa) Capital: Bhubaneswar
Punjab Capital: Chandigarh (shared, Union Territory)
Sikkim Capital: Gangtok
Tamil Nadu Capital: Chennai
Tripura Capital: Agartala
Uttar Pradesh Capital: Lucknow
Uttarakhand Capital: Dehradun (interim)
West Bengal Capital: Kolkata

Union Territories

Andaman and Nicobar Islands Capital: Port Blair
Chandigarh Capital: Chandigarh
Dadra and Nagar Haveli Capital: Silvassa
Daman and Diu Capital: Daman
Lakshadweep Capital: Kavaratti
National Capital Territory of Delhi Capital: Delhi
Puducherry (Pondicherry) Capital: Pondicherry

All figures are approximate numbers and are subjected to change. Kindly update if there is outdated information.
Write to us directly at

--- The Indian Minority